Panmure Basin

Panmure is a suburb of Auckland slightly East of the city bordering the Tamaki Estuary. To the South is a smaller estuary called Panmure Basin, formed by a volcanic crater.

Being a geologist in Auckland must be an amazing job.

I headed out to Panmure a bit before noon intent on walking around the basin. As I got there, though, the weather was looking threatening. And sure enough, shortly after I started walking the skies opened up.

I am not so easily daunted, however, and I know the wiles of New Zealand’s weather. So I sat down underneath a tree and ate my lunch.

Sure enough, after a leisurely lunch the weather had blown through and there was even some blue peeking out from behind the clouds. What luck!

The path meanders alongside plenty of greenery.

Panmure Basin is fed from a few places, it seems…here’s one small stream which looks like it could become a larger river if the conditions were right!

There’s a solid little bridge over the stream, though, so even if it were much larger pedestrians could still pass.

I’m not sure where the other end of that pipe is, but I don’t think I want to know what would cause it to spew so hard the stream fills up! I’d guess it’s fed by storm drains on the side of the road.

At this point I’ve reached the other side of the basin. Apparently there’s a water slide on the side I started from!

On the deeper side, there’s a small jetty where a rowboat or similar small craft could be docked. The stairs go under a pohutukawa tree, known as New Zealand’s Christmas tree since it blooms in wintertime.

Here’s another little stream, which flows into a small pond / reservoir. I have no idea what this is all trying to accomplish, but it looks pretty cool. The water, though, is not an attractive color at this point.

This is the reservoir-ish thing. Ducks must not be fed.

There’s a pretty neat bridge too! The water here is a nice contrast to that sludge from the last couple of photos.

The bridge takes you to the last bit of the track, which loops around to the first bit.

From this part of the trail, we can see Mt. Wellington. I haven’t been up that one yet, but perhaps sometime….

And that was my walk around Panmure Basin. I’m quite lucky that the weather cleared up in time for me to enjoy it!

We’re not quite done with the Tamaki Estuary though. Tune in next time for more waterfront exploration!

2 thoughts on “Panmure Basin

  1. I’m suddenly wishing I had become a geologist in NZ. *sob*
    “the skies opened up” is an interesting phrase–the way I would have pictured it without context is that the clouds parted, not that it dumped rain! “the skies opened up and angels sang”.
    my uncle’s house had a similar sort of tree to the pohutukawa in his backyard. I didn’t know what it was called and thought of it as the bottlebrush tree. it turns out to be called…bottlebrush tree. (they’re not the same genus as the pohutkawa but they are both in the myrtle family.)

    • Hmm, I’ve heard and said “the skies opened up” meaning “it dumped rain” for as long as I can recall. Interesting!

      Just this past weekend I went on a hike with a couple of other folks from the US and we were talking about the similarities between the pohutukawa and the bottlebrush tree!

      I bet being a geologist in NZ is like being a kid in a candy store!

Leave a Reply

