Musick Point on Bucklands Beach

Ahh, Bucklands Beach. The name has entranced me for some time due to the fact that Buckland is a fictional location in the Lord of the Rings books. Bucklands Beach, however, is named after a man called Buckland who used to farm ostriches there. Musick Point is, similarly, named after a pilot named Musick who was lost at sea in a seaplane some decades ago.

I had occasion to go there a couple of months ago, and I liked it so much I went back the next day. Sometimes I take one trip and make it into two posts; this time I am going to try my hardest to make two trips into one post. The first trip was on a slightly overcast day and was with my friend Kali; the second was on a brilliantly blue day and was with my friend and hiking buddy Taylor.

Spoiler alert: this time I might actually learn how tides work. Mostly by trial and error.

Bucklands Beach juts out into the Hauraki Gulf and is bordered to the West by the Tamaki Estuary. Half Moon Bay (not the one in California, obvs) is located on this side of the peninsula.

Musick Point is at the tip of Bucklands Beach. You can see an interesting building with many antennae peeking over the trees. This building turned out to be a maritime radio center.

The path to the point goes around the building, and is nicely landscaped with cool flowers.

Beach access is down a semi-hidden set of stairs, which uncharacteristically I completely failed to get a picture of (me failing to get a picture of something is characteristic, but me failing to get a picture of stairs is not).

Once down the stairs, there’s a rocky beach area. These cliffs seem to my untrained eye to be some sort of sandstone, but whatever they are they’re definitely soft and crumbly.

There are some trees hanging desperately to the stone (and here is another, not inline for brevity).

Out along the rocks is this little stone island.

It’s riddled with holes and great for exploring and climbing.

It’s not very large or high, but it’s fun to mess around on.

Kali and I both climbed atop it. Here she is demonstrating the nice vantage point at the edge. That’s Brown’s Island there in the background (and of course Rangitoto in the far background). More on that in a moment.

When I told Taylor about this spot, I said, dude, you’re going to love it. I told him all about this rock you could climb up and jump off of and all the great photos I took. He was in. So we drove out, and when we climbed down the steps, I was gobsmacked.

The tide had come in, turning the rock ledge into a true island. The water was almost up to the foot of the stairs.

Rounding the cliff face to the North, there are some beautiful miniature bays (note the change in weather from the previous day). We explored the bays and tide pools for a while.

Taylor had some neat ideas for photographs — he is, unlike me, a professional photographer. He’s also perpetually wearing board shorts, so he’s always ready to get in the water.

We also found some tide pools and got some photos of the critters and flora therein (mine are of course rubbish, and not included here).

We spent a few hours exploring around to the East end of the peninsula…

…and gradually the tide came out, revealing the rocky beaches again.

Though the ground was a bit moist, we were able to go out to the island and climb around a bit.

Taylor also jumped in several times. I used his camera to get some pretty decent action shots of his jumps.

Anyway, that’s Musick Point. It’s a super beautiful place that’s fun for exploring. But before I go, here’s some scenery photos I took from the rock:

Rangitoto and Brown’s Island being island bros.

Zooming in on Brown’s Island.

There’s no commercial ferry service to the island, but it’s all technically public land. I’d love to borrow a boat or sea kayak at some point and head out there to explore!

Superzoom of Brown’s Island using the big lens. Just for fun.

Yep, you knew I was going to sneak something Auckland-related in. The Sky Tower, peeking out over the houses (I haven’t been able to figure out what that peninsula is called, so I’m going to call it the Orakei Peninsula and hope it catches on).

Thanks for joining me and my friends on a trip to the lovely Musick Point. It’s a great place for a picnic or to spend an afternoon. Just keep an eye on those tides :)

Next post you’ll join Taylor and I as we go on a new adventure in an old favorite spot of mine. See you then!

2 thoughts on “Musick Point on Bucklands Beach

  1. Not going extinct is a great skill to cultivate.
    (And as an English teacher, in hopes of not going extinct, I can’t resist an opportunity to point out the appropriate use of objective case pronouns for direct objects at the same time as I regretfully decline your invitation to join “Taylor and me” rather than “Taylor and I.”)

    • Haha, I make that mistake a lot. Our language is more than anything shaped by our environment, and what sounds correct to our ears is influenced less by what we know intellectually is correct and more by what we encountered as our linguistic skills were developing. Therefore, since I frequently use subjective case where objective case would be correct, I think the most likely conclusion would be that I encountered that error frequently in my home environment.

      Of course, learned behavior can also be altered by proper and consistent instruction. So even if the home environment were somehow faulty, proper teaching later in life could possibly have corrected my mis-usage. Sadly, it seems that didn’t happen either.

      In summary, my errors are clearly your fault and not mine ;)

Leave a Reply

