South Island, Pt. 17: Milford Sound

Welcome back! We left off last time (Part 16) right before I got on a boat. If you’re confused about why I’m getting on a boat, read the previous post (if you did and you’re still confused, that’s my fault. Sorry.)

There is no other word for the weather than “wet”. I apologize for any shots marred by droplets on my lens; I tried to keep it pretty clean, but when it’s as wet as it was on this trip then there’s only so much one can do.

The trip started out pretty foggy. Fortunately, it did clear up a bit.

Ahh, better. Still can’t see into the distance, but at least I can see my hand in front of my face!

I hope you like waterfalls, because in addition to the water falling from the sky the cliff faces have torrents of runoff all over.

You think I’m exaggerating? Well, you’d usually be right, but in this case just look!

There is so much water just absolutely roaring off that cliff. Utterly unbelievable.

These falls are called the Four Sisters, though in this weather there’s some smaller bonus sisters as well :)

Off to our starboard the fog was lifting a bit; enough to see another boat go right under a pretty substantial waterfall. We would do so as well later on in the journey.

I believe this kind of fall is called a horsetail fall. The fog lifted just enough to give me a nice clear shot of about 80% of it.

Most of my fellow passengers stayed indoors (and dry), but a few like me ventured outside.

This one’s pretty cool because it turns sideways at the bottom!

And then…wait…what’s on that rock? Zoom and Enhance!

Why, it’s some seals! I’d say they were sunning themselves, but the sun is nowhere to be seen.

Off in the distance there’s Captain Squigglefalls, which I think is it’s official name (it’s not).

It’s a bit hard to get a sense of scale for these falls, but trust me when I say these are massive.

These are called the Disappearing Falls, because the wind will pick up the water and make it look like it disappears in midair. I think I managed to catch it in the act with a good enough shot that you can see what’s going on.

We also, as previously mentioned, went beneath a rather large waterfall. I put my camera inside (lest I demonstrate the difference between water resistant and waterproof), though I myself stood outside just to experience it. I didn’t think I could get any wetter, but I was wrong. I was utterly and completely soaked by the end of the trip.

So that’s Milford Sound. And that’s also the end of my South Island adventure. I will have one more post to wrap everything up, but I have no more trips to show you. I hope you enjoyed! Thanks for coming with me, and I hope you’ll join me back in Auckland as well as I continue to have adventures back home too.

Leave a Reply

